OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

net.TUTOR: Citing Net Sources: Quick Guide

Citing Net Sources > Quick Guide

This guide shows the elements commonly used when creating bibliographic references for Internet sources. It is a research aid, not a definitive source on citation format. See the style manuals listed in this guide for further information.

General Rules

Examples shown here are based on the following style manuals:

Citing Web Pages

Individual workExamples
Cite these elements:

  • Author/Editor
  • Title of page
  • Site title
  • Publication date/Last modified
  • Publisher/sponsor
  • Access date
  • Address

APA Style:

Stolley, K. (2006, Sept. 28). Avoiding plagiarism. The OWL at Purdue. Purdue University Writing Lab. Retrieved July 27, 2007, from http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/589/01/

MLA Style:

Stolley, Karl. "Avoiding Plagiarism." The OWL at Purdue. Purdue University Writing Lab. 30 September 2008. Web. 27 July 2009. <http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/589/01/>.

Citing Parts of Individual Works

Part of a workExamples
Cite these elements:

  • Author/Editor
  • Title of part
  • Source title
  • Site title (if different)
  • Publication date/Last modified
  • Publisher/sponsor
  • Access date
  • Address

APA Style:

Du Bois, W.E.B. (1903). Of the dawn of freedom. In The Souls of Black Folk. Retrieved July 27, 2007, from Bartleby.com: Great Books Online, http://www.bartleby.com/114/

MLA Style:

Du Bois, W.E.B. "Of the Dawn of Freedom." The Souls of Black Folk. 1903. N. pag. Bartleby.com: Great Books Online. Web. 27 July 2009. <http://www.bartleby.com/114/>.

Citing Online Articles

Magazine, journal, newspaper article Example
Cite these elements: APA

  • Author
  • Title of article
  • Source information (title, volume/issue, pub. date, paging if available)
  • Access date (not needed for APA if content will not change)
  • Address: APA uses Digital Object Identifier (DOI) if available; otherwise article URL
  • When found with subscription database and no DOI available: database name only
APA Style:

Cook, P. E., & Hinman, L. (1999). Criminal profiling: science and art. Journal Of Contemporary Criminal Justice, 15(3), 230-241. doi: 10.1177/1043986299015003002

OR

Cook, P. E., & Hinman, L. (1999). Criminal profiling: science and art. Journal Of Contemporary Criminal Justice, 15(3), 230-241. Retrieved from Academic Search Complete.

Magazine, journal, newspaper article Example
Cite these elements: MLA

  • Author
  • Title of article
  • Source information (title, volume/issue, pub. date, paging if available)
  • When found with subscription database: database name
  • Access date
  • Address: URL (when found using subscription database, provide database name only, as above)
MLA Style:

Cook, Patrick E. and Dayle L. Hinman. "Criminal Profiling: Science and Art." Journal Of Contemporary Criminal Justice 15.3 (1999): 230-241. Academic Search Complete. Web. 27 July 2009.

Citing Postings and Messages

Mailing List Message Examples
Cite these elements:

  • Author
  • Pub. date of message
  • Title/Subject line of message
  • List name
  • Access date (MLA only)
  • Address (Web message archive or e-mail address)

APA Style:

McKiernan, G. (9 July 2007). They*re everywhere you go*: hip and cool librarians. Message posted to Web4lib electronic mailing list, archived at http://lists.webjunction.org/wjlists/web4lib/2007-July/044571.html

MLA Style:

McKiernan, Gerry. "They*re Everywhere You Go*: Hip and Cool Librarians." Message to Web4lib electronic mailing list. 9 July 2007. E-mail. 27 July 2009. <http://lists.webjunction.org/wjlists/web4lib/2007-July/044571.html>.

Blog Posting Examples
Cite these elements:

  • Author
  • Pub. date of posting
  • Title/Subject line of posting
  • Blog title (MLA only)
  • Access date (MLA only)
  • Address

APA Style:

Kroski, E. (2006, April 7). Community 2.0. Message posted to: http://infotangle.blogsome.com/

MLA Style:

Kroski, Ellyssa. "Community 2.0." InfoTangle. Blogsome. 7 April 2006. Web. 27 July 2009. <http://infotangle.blogsome.com/>.

Personal E-Mail Message Examples
Cite these elements:

  • Author/Sender
  • Date of message
  • Title/Subject line of message (MLA only)
  • Description/Recipient

APA Style:

E-mail messages should be cited only within the text of the paper. They are not included in the References. For example:

Anthony Boyle (personal communication, Aug. 31, 2006) stated that this notion of utopia was consistent with the view held by many religious scholars.

MLA Style:

Boyle, Anthony T. "Re: Utopia." Message to the author. 31 Aug. 2006. E-mail.

Other Formats

See Citing Multimedia for examples of citations for images, audio and video files found online.

Additional Sources of Information


net.TUTOR © 1997-2008, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/tutor/
Last update: 30 July 2007