OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

net.TUTOR: Specialized Databases

Specialized Databases > 5: Finding Databases

So, what's out there? How do you know if there is a database available for your specific information need? Here are a some strategies for finding them.

5A: Finding Free Databases

Here are some Web indexes and directories that are rich sources for finding useful databases. To use these sources effectively:

  1. Think of the broad topic that encompasses your specific research need
  2. Use that term to locate a database that may contain the information you want
Example: for information about Pablo Picasso, look for a database of artists.

ipl2Search for a topic along with the word "database."

Try this: Search for recipe database to find a source with information on vegetarian food.

IntuteSearch or drill down by topical area to discover which databases are available.

Try this: Click on Advanced Search. Search all fields for: plants and limit it to Resource type: non-bibliographic databases

Yahoo! DirectoryEnter a broad topic in the search box along with the word "database."

Try this: Search for these words and browse results: architecture database

5B: Finding Fee-Based (Library) Databases

Because the databases available to you will vary depending on which library you are affiliated with, there are basically two best options for finding which commercial (fee-based) databases may be provided by your local library:

Activity

Connect to the OSU Libraries list of research databases, and browse by subject. Select Multimedia to find a database that will help you locate art and architecture images.

[Site opens in new window.]

Pop Quiz

To locate a specialized database, search:

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Back | Top | Next: Rate this Tutorial


net.TUTOR © 1997-2008, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/tutor/