Specialized Databases > 1: What Are Specialized Databases?

Did you know that there is a virtual treasure trove of information that is not visible through the traditional search engines? Thousands of searchable databases, archives and other information sources deliver highly-targeted information for a much improved searching experience.

--The Invisible Web Catalog on the Lycos Network

1A: Distinct and Defined

A database is a collection of data arranged for ease and speed of search and retrieval. Use a database to get the exact type of information you need quickly. Databases are created to manage distinct sets or types of information. By searching a specialized database, you can expect a certain kind of result.

For example, to find the address of Microsoft, do a quick search in a business/company database. By using a Web index, like Google, you may waste a lot of time going through hundreds of hits (news releases, articles, personal web sites, etc.) to locate an address.

Web data sources

Specialized databases are:

Although a Web index can help you locate a specialized database on a topic of interest, generally you cannot use it to find information stored within the database. You must locate and search these databases directly. Some strategies for locating useful databases are provided later in this tutorial.

1B: Database Structure: Records and Fields

Illustration of database and files Databases consist of records of information. Each record in a database is further divided into specific fields. These records are often grouped into larger files within the database, like drawers within a filing cabinet.

For example, a record in a bibliographic database, such as a library catalog, might contain the following fields:

In a product database, a record might contain the following fields:

Why is this important? Because database records contain fields, you can target your search more effectively. Searchable databases allow you to specify which field you wish to look for your terms or keywords in. In the illustration below, a search for "college binge drinking" in the title field found a useful article on this topic.

Screen display from Periodical Abstracts database

Activity

Use Hoovers Online business database. Search for the company name Accenture Ltd or for the stock ticker symbol ACN. How many people are employed by this company?

[Sites open in new window.]

Pop Quiz

Specialized databases are:

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Top | Next


net.TUTOR © 1997-2007, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/tutor/