Web Search and News Tools > 4: News Sources

4A: Web News Resources

You may be looking for information on a "hot topic," one that is in the news frequently (like gun control). Or perhaps you want to keep up with news in your chosen field. Using a large Web search engine (like AltaVista, HotBot, etc.) to find news stories can be problematic in two ways. First, while the search engine may provide a special section with links to current news on your topic, these will be limited and will not provide much depth. Secondly, looking through the results in the longer list of items retrieved is like trying to find a needle in a haystack. Instead, use a specialized news-only Web database to focus your search. These databases index a wide variety of news sites and sources.

AllTheWeb: News Search
This news search is highly rated by many, its best feature being its currency. News stories that are only 10-15 minutes old can be found by this search engine. It is possible to limit searches by language, type of news publication, or date and time that stories were indexed. It is not clear how long stories are archived.

Yahoo! News
Provides current videos, pictures and news stories from newswire services (Reuters and Associated Press) and archives them for two weeks. News from other providers (like ZDNet, E!Online and ABCNews.com) is retained for one month. Here's a news help page that explains the features and content. Select the Advanced option next to the search box to be able to specify dates, publications and more.

4B: Library News Databases

Library news databases (those the library pays for so you have access to them) provide access to current news stories, but they also offer more:
- depth of coverage (stories come from a much wider array of sources)
- advanced searching features (so you can fine-tune your search more precisely)
- archival information (find stories that are 1, 5, or even 20 years old)

LexisNexis Academic
A news database available through library subscription which provides access to thousands of national and international newspapers, transcripts, and press releases dating back 20 years or more. Connect to LexisNexis Academic and explore the various areas of this resource.

NOTE: Access is restricted. You will be prompted to authenticate with an OSU username.number if you are accessing from off-campus.

Video tutorials provide an overview of navigating this large and complex resource.

A Easy Search is the least complicated search interface and an easy place to start for most topics. Selecting this option will allow you to search the general database (news and other items).

Power Search allow you to customize your search to a fine degree. By selecting the News segment (select News from the top red menu bar) the search interface will change to this mode. News provides full-text of stories from hundreds of large U.S. daily newspapers, regional and local papers, international sources, wire services, transcripts of television and radio broadcast news programs and specialty papers. The "Terms and Connectors" option allows the most customization of a search. (See screen image to the right.) With this option it is possible to specify a variety of conditions to a search, such as keywords, specific publications, where terms are found, and how often they occur.

4C: Specialty News Sites

If you want to follow news stories on particular topics of academic or personal interest, there are several good options available.

Google News
Use this news service to find older, archived news stories and view them in a timeline. You can also customize how the daily news is presented and save this layout.

New York Times Email Service
Receive customized daily headlines from the New York Times. You can select to receive from any or all of the following categories: International, National, Business, Technology, Politics, Sports, Arts, OpEd, or New York Region. The email includes abstracts of the articles and links to the full version.

Rocketinfo
A search engine for business and breaking news. This search index updates links by the minute, not by the day, so news is available immediately. A link is provided to turn your search into an RSS feed for continual and automatic updating if you wish.

Yahoo: Business: News and Media
This is an example of how you can use a large directory like Yahoo! to find specialized news publications on a topic, such as business. The "News and Media" sub-category is available for most of the major topical areas in Yahoo!

Activity

In the Yahoo! News type: Harry Potter (make sure that "All news" is selected) and click search. Review the results. Note that videos, photos and news stories are all part of the results.

Next go to LexisNexis Academic to try a news search.

When reviewing the results of this search, note that you can select particular citations (by checking the box next to an entry), then choose the E-Mail Documents icon at the top of the results page to send these results to yourself (or someone else). When viewing full text of an article, you can also choose the E-Mail option.

[Links open in new browser window.]

Pop Quiz

Yahoo! News is a good source for:

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Back | Top | Next


© 2007, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/guides/