OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

Topical Guides: Social Sciences Research

Social Sciences Research > 3: Articles & Journals

Previous|Guide Home|Next

3A: Types of Resources

Use an article database (also called a periodical index) to locate articles published in magazines, scholarly journals or trade publications. When you have a specific topic in mind, use an appropriate article database and search by keyword. To browse articles, find a journal dedicated to your topic or field of study.

Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines Trade Publications

Note that some journals and articles are freely available on the Web, while others are fee-based, requiring that the user have a subscription to gain access. The OSU Libraries provides access to over 10,000 fee-based online journals for students at OSU and to over 300 article databases for searching for articles by key word.

This section contains scholarly resources, some of which may require subscription access via a library. While we aim to suggest free resources, some of the key article and database resources are available via subscription only. Non-OSU users are encouraged to check with their local academic or public library for access options if your research needs are not sufficiently addressed by the free resources.

3B: Examples: Article Databases

PsycINFO (OSU access)

Bibliographic Index to the international literature in psychology and material relevant to psychology in the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Links to the full text of articles are often available within the records.

Social Sciences Abstracts (OSU access)

Indexes approximately 350 periodicals in anthropology, area studies, community, health and medical care, economics, ethnic studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law and criminology, minority studies, planning and public administration, policy science and corrections, political science, psychology and psychiatry social work and public welfare, sociology, and urban studies.

Social Sciences Research Network

This database is freely available on the Web to anyone. It provides access to abstracts of working papers and published articles for free. Access to some full articles is free, others are available for a fee. For fee-based articles, check the OSU Library Catalog to see if they are available to you for free through library subscriptions. With a free registration access is also available to data on publications, and the ability to submit articles also becomes available.

SocIndex (OSU access)

The SocIndex is heralded as the "world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database." The journal's scope is extensive, accessing over one million records arranged using subject headings designed by experts.  There are 750 core journals, which date back to 1895.  In the full text section, sociology and various related studies are referenced, including abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other additions, violence and many others.

3C: Examples: Online Magazines and Journals

American Journal of Psychology (OSU access)

Explores the basic science of the mind, publishing reports of original research in experimental psychology, theoretical presentations, combined theoretical and experimental analyses, historical commentaries, and in-depth reviews of significant books.

Annual Review of Sociology (OSU access)

Full text of published review articles in the field of sociology.

The Atlantic Monthly

A general editorial magazine focusing on contemporary social and cultural issues.

The Green Bag: An Entertaining Journal of Law

Edited by lawyers, The Green Bag publishes anything that is short, clear, interesting, and law-related.

3D: How to Find More

OSU Libraries:

Google Scholar

Use this special search within Google to find just: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. By setting the "Library Links" within "Scholar Preferences", you can have the results link to OSU holdings of fee-based material when owned.

Yahoo: News and Media

Browse by topic area to find links to appropriate online magazines, journals and trade publications. This resource is useful for finding publications on a topic- not for finding individual articles.

Activity

Using Yahoo: News and Media, find an online magazine to bookmark in your browser. You can visit the site regularly to read about government or political news.

[Links open in new browser window.]

Pop Quiz

An OSU article database is a good place to find:

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Previous|Guide Home|Next


© 2013, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/guides/