OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

net.TUTOR: Web Search Tools

List of Search Engines by Type

Below you will find lists and descriptions of search engines by type.  You can also view another list if you want to see even more.  Search Engine History has a good historical overview of web search engines.

6A: General Search Engines

Yahoo:     This search engine has been around for many years and is one of the most widely used.
Google:  The most widely used search engine.
Duck Duck Go Lists options when search terms have multiple meanings.
Kosmix: Divides results by categories, laid out with thumbnails.

 Results laid out in a tree diagram by category - or specify desired categories before searching.

Bing: Microsoft’s latest attempt  at a search engine.


6B: Metasearch Engines

Metacrawler Searches multiple other search engines and brings the top results.  Search by category and see recommended searches.
Dogpile: An early metasearch engine.  Allows for searching by multiple categories.
Yippy: Formerly Clusty.  Search and see results by multiple "clouds."
Webcrawler: One of the first search engines.  Now exists as a metasearch engine.
Leapfish: Categorized results and an interesting results navigation
Mamma: One of the first metasearch engines.  Search categories and view suggested searches.


6C: Science-Specific Search Engines

Science.gov: Search multiple science-oriented government web sites.  Covers most science areas.
Vadlo: Covers biomedical and life sciences.
eTBLAST: Enter a string of text (several paragraphs possible) from a work and find similar results.  Search may take some time.  Focus is largely medical.
Quertle Search for Biomedical information, including journal literature.
GoPubMed Search for medical information.  Search includes links to definitions, Wikipedia articles, statistical information on results, and more.
NovoSeek A biomedical search engine for journal literature.  Contains a useful filter option for results.
NextBio Search for biological information, including clinical trials, news, data and journal literature.
GEOindex Search for geological and environmental information.
AgriSurf Search the top agricultural web sites.

6D: Social Sciences-Specific Search Engines

Intute: Focuses searches on specific sites.  Covers many subject areas.  Strong focus on British web sites.
Economics Search Engine: Custom Google search engine focusing on 23,000 economics web sites.
SearchGov.com: Search U.S. government (federal, state, local) web sites.
LawCrawler: Search the web and databases for legal information.
Biznar: Search the deep web for business information.
Business.com: A search engine designed to help businesses make purchasing decisions.
ThomasNet: Search for product, company, or brand information.  Also browse by over 67,000 categories.
Research Resources for the Social Sciences: Find resources on social sciences topics.
Education Planet: Search for or browse information on education topics.
Education World: Search for education topics.  Includes lesson plans.
ZPID PsychSpider: A psychology-specific search engine that includes data, tests, and also MEDLINE information.
Social Psychology Network: Search thousands of psychology-specific sites. browse or limit searches to specific topics.


6E: Arts & Humanities-Specific Search Engines

The First Person: Search personal letters, diaries, or narratives.
Yahoo! Music Search for musical information.  Includes videos, lyrics, news, and more.
Grooveshark Listen to free music online.  Search for artists, albums, or specific songs.  Includes many genres, including ranging from classical to television theme songs.
Playlist.com Search for and listen to free music online.  Share playlists on social networking sites.
Artcyclopedia Search for fine art information.  Search artists, work titles, or by museum names/locations.
VADS Search for visual art images (paintings, photographs, posters, sculptures, and more.
History Engine Find information on a wide variety of U.S. history topics.  See summaries, links to resources, courses at a variety of colleges/universities, maps, and more.
Footnote: Search for and share documents on U.S. history topics.  Currently over 67 million items digitized.
American Memory Search the Library of Congress's American Memory Collections for information on U.S. history.

6F: Format-Specific Search Engines

Note: Many major search engines have video, audio, and image search options or limits - check these out as well!  Some overlap may occur with the formats below.


Wolfram|Alpha Search for topics and get data on them.  Compare multiple topics using A v. B format.
ICPSR Find social science data.
The Datasets Search Engine A custom search engine to find datasets on a wide range of topics.



picsearch Search over 3 billion pictures on the web.
TinEye A reverse image search - upload an image and see where it or other versions can be found.
Pixsy Search images and videos.


TubeSurf A video metasearch site.
blinkx Search over 35 million hours of video, including music, television, and more.
Truveo Search or browse videos in multiple categories.


See also the list of music resources above under Arts & Humanities

FindSounds: Search for a wide range of sounds in multiple formats.
podscope: Search for podcasts (both audio and video).
Kazaa: Search for and download music.


net.TUTOR 1997-2008, The Ohio State University Libraries