OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

Topical Guides: Physical Science, Math and Technology Research

Physical Science, Math and Technology Research > 3: Articles & Journals

Previous|Guide Home|Next

3A: Types of Resources

Use an article database (also called a periodical index) to locate articles published in magazines, scholarly journals or trade publications. When you have a specific topic in mind, use an appropriate article database and search by keyword. To browse articles, find a journal dedicated to your topic or field of study.

Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines Trade Publications

Note that some journals and articles are freely available on the Web, while others are fee-based, requiring that the user have a subscription to gain access. The OSU Libraries provides access to over 10,000 fee-based online journals for students at OSU and to over 300 article databases for searching for articles by key word.

This section contains scholarly resources, some of which may require subscription access via a library. While we aim to suggest free resources, some of the key article and database resources are available via subscription only. Non-OSU users are encouraged to check with their local academic or public library for access options if your research needs are not sufficiently addressed by the free resources.

3B: Examples: Article Databases

Science.gov

A government science-specific search engine that searches information from two major science article databases.

Astrophysical Data System

Search for astronomy and astrophysics articles.

Zentralblatt MATH Database

Has information on books, articles, and conferences papers in mathematics and statistics. Free use restricted to top THREE results.

3C: Examples: Online Magazines and Journals

Physics World

This is an example of a specialized online science magazine, although content is aimed at the interested lay reader rather than the researcher. Only some of the content is available online.

Scientific American

One of the best known general interest science magazines also provides its articles online. Browse by issue back to 2002 or search for specific topics. For more online coverage, connect to the journal through the link in the OSU library catalog.  Note any differences in the articles available through OSU.

SciTech Daily Review

The latest in science and technology news updated five times a week.

Notices of the American Mathematical Society

Mathematics/statistics news from the AMS.

ChemistryOpen

A free chemistry journal, including special content with links of chemistry to the life sciences.

Planetary Science

A free journal with astronomy articles, especially those related to planets.

 

3D: How to Find More

Google Scholar

Use this special search within Google to find peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. By setting the "Library Links" within "Scholar Preferences", you can have the results link to OSU holdings (or other libraries) of fee-based material when owned.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Search for articles or find a specific journal among thousands of freely available electronic journals.

Electronic Journals (OSU access)

Search for or browse through electronic journal titles to which the OSU Libraries subscribe, or that are freely available to you.

WorldCat@OSU (OSU access)

Search for articles, books, and more all at once.

Research Databases by Subject

See ALL of the databases the OSU Libraries has access to through a browse by subject or title. Many are restricted access for OSU users. Key OSU access databases in this subject area include Compendex (engineering), MathSciNet (mathematics/statistics), GeoRef (earth sciences), and SciFinder Scholar (chemistry, requires registration).

Activity

Using Directory of Open Access Journals, find an online journal in a subject area in which you are interested.

[Links open in new browser window.]

Pop Quiz

An article database is a good place to find:

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Previous|Guide Home|Next


© 2013, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/guides/