OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

Topical Guides: Life Sciences Research

Life Sciences Research > 3: Articles & Journals

Previous|Guide Home|Next

3A: Types of Resources

Use an article database (also called a periodical index) to locate articles published in magazines, scholarly journals or trade publications. When you have a specific topic in mind, use an appropriate article database and search by keyword. To browse articles, find a journal dedicated to your topic or field of study.

Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines Trade Publications

Note that some journals and articles are freely available on the Web, while others are fee-based, requiring that the user have a subscription to gain access. The OSU Libraries provides access to over 10,000 fee-based online journals for students at OSU and to over 300 article databases for searching for articles by key word.

This section contains scholarly resources, some of which may require subscription access via a library. While we aim to suggest free resources, some of the key article and database resources are available via subscription only. Non-OSU users are encouraged to check with their local academic or public library for access options if your research needs are not sufficiently addressed by the free resources.

3B: Examples: Article Databases

AGRICOLA
OSU users use AGRICOLA (EBSCO)

Citations to agricultural literature acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions, and subfiles of related subjects, such as food and nutrition, agricultural economics, parasitology, forestry, aquaculture, wildlife, and environmental science supplied by information centers.

PubMed
OSU users use this PubMed link to see options for OSU Libraries materials access

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 22 million citations of worldwide biomedical literature back to the mid-1950's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Includes articles on research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.

BIOSIS Citation Index (OSU access)

Contains references to journal articles, reports, literature reviews, conference papers, patents, and book synopses in the life sciences.

Garden, Landscape and Horticulture Index (OSU access)

Indexes articles about horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. Includes practical and scholarly articles.

Academic Search Complete (OSU access)

A database covering most discplines.

3C: Examples: Online Magazines and Journals

PLOS Biology

Created by scientists and physicians to make biological and health information available freely to the public. This respected journals contains scholarly articles on a wide range of topics, with new articles appearing weekly.

BMC Biology

Publishes research and methodolgy articles, reviews, opinions, and more on any area of biology.

Open Biology

This Royal Society journal covers original and high quality research in molecular and cellular biology.

Ecosphere

Publishes papers on all areas of ecology, including theoretical, empirical, and applied.

Electronic Green Journal

A professional, peer-reviewed journal on international environmentalism. Besides scholarly articles it includes book reviews and news.

Journal of Agricultural and Environmental Ethics (OSU access)

Articles on ethical issues confronting agriculture, food production and environmental concerns. Made available through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.

Veterinary Research Communications (OSU access)

Scholarly veterinary publication made available through the OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center.

 

3D: How to Find More

OSU Libraries:

Google Scholar

Use this special search within Google to find just: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. By setting the "Library Links" within "Scholar Preferences", you can have the results link to OSU holdings of fee-based material when owned.

Yahoo: News and Media

Browse by topic area to find links to appropriate online magazines, journals and trade publications. This resource is useful for finding publications on a topic- not for finding individual articles.

Activity

Using Yahoo: News and Media, find an online magazine to bookmark in your browser. You can visit the site regularly to read about animal and environmental news.

[Links open in new browser window.]

Pop Quiz

An OSU article database is a good place to find:

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Previous|Guide Home|Next

© 2013, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/guides/