OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

Topical Guides: Humanities Research

Humanities Research > 3: Articles & Journals

Previous|Guide Home|Next

3A: Types of Resources

Use an article database (also called a periodical index) to locate articles published in magazines, scholarly journals or trade publications. When you have a specific topic in mind, use an appropriate article database and search by keyword. To browse articles, find a journal dedicated to your topic or field of study.

Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines Trade Publications

Note that some journals and articles are freely available on the Web, while others are fee-based, requiring that the user have a subscription to gain access. The OSU Libraries provides access to over 10,000 fee-based online journals for students at OSU and to over 300 article databases for searching for articles by key word.

This section contains scholarly resources, some of which may require subscription access via a library. While we aim to suggest free resources, some of the key article and database resources are available via subscription only. Non-OSU users are encouraged to check with their local academic or public library for access options if your research needs are not sufficiently addressed by the free resources.

3B: Examples: Article Databases

Google Scholar

Use this special search within Google to find just: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. By setting the "Library Links" within "Scholar Preferences," you can have the results link to OSU holdings (or other libraries, if applicable) of fee-based material when owned. Some content will be freely accessible.

Directory of Open Access Journals

Search thousands of journals withf ree content. Covers most subject areas.

ERIC
OSU users consider using the OSU Libraries subscription version

An database covering education topics relating to nearly any discipline.

PubMed
OSU users use this PubMed link to see options for OSU Libraries materials access

A medical database that touches on nearly any topic in relation to health, including humanities topics.

 

3C: Examples: Online Magazines and Journals

assemblage

An online journal for graduate students in archaeology. Provides a forum for graduate students to gain experience in publication and disseminates information on topics of interest to other graduate students in archaeology, anthropology, geography, folklore, classics, and history.

Modern Fiction Studies (OSU access)

A scholarly journal of literary criticism.

Writing Across the Disciplines

Dedicated to all aspects of writing and writing educational issues.

Wide Screen

Covers a variety of aspects and perspectives related to cinema.

Judgment and Decision Making

Publishes articles related to how humans make judgements and decisions, including from a variety of discplines' viewpoints.

Conflict and Health

A journal covering the intertwined relationship between conflict and health.

3D: How to Find More

OSU Libraries:

Yahoo: News and Media

Browse by topic area to find links to appropriate online magazines, journals and trade publications. This resource is useful for finding publications on a topic- not for finding individual articles.

Activity

Using Yahoo: News and Media, find an online magazine to bookmark in your browser. You can visit the site regularly to read about literary, historical, or other humanities related news.

[Links open in new browser window.]

Pop Quiz

An OSU article database is a good place to find:

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Previous|Guide Home|Next


© 2013, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/guides/