OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

Topical Guides: Health Research

Health Research > 3: Articles & Journals

Previous|Guide Home|Next

3A: Types of Resources

Use an article database (also called a periodical index) to locate articles published in magazines, scholarly journals or trade publications. When you have a specific topic in mind, use an appropriate article database and search by keyword. To browse articles, find a journal dedicated to your topic or field of study.

Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines Trade Publications

Note that some journals and articles are freely available on the Web, while others are fee-based, requiring that the user have a subscription to gain access. The OSU Libraries provides access to over 10,000 fee-based online journals for students at OSU and to over 300 article databases for searching for articles by key word.

This section contains scholarly resources, some of which may require subscription access via a library. While we aim to suggest free resources, some of the key article and database resources are available via subscription only. Non-OSU users are encouraged to check with their local academic or public library for access options if your research needs are not sufficiently addressed by the free resources.

3B: Examples: Article Databases

PubMed
OSU users use this PubMed link to see options for OSU Libraries materials access

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 22 million citations of worldwide biomedical literature back to the mid-1950's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources. Includes articles on research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services.

The Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library provides access to the abstracts of Cochrane Reviews, highly esteemed for their rigor, which address clinical issues through a systematic review process. Abstracts are available freely and are very useful on their own. They also provide access to a large database of registered clinical trials that are only available through subscription.

TRIP

TRIP is a meta database to help you find and use high quality research evidence.

3C: Examples: Online Magazines and Journals

JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association

Premier national medical publication providing research papers and news from the field.

Physicians Weekly

Online version of the printed publication featuring highlights and analysis of medical news geared toward physicians.

World Health News

A news digest from the Harvard School of Public Health.

PLOS Medicine

A leading freely available medical journal.

Morbidity & Mortality Weekly Report

A publication of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention on public health issues.

3D: How to Find More

PubMed Central

PubMed CentralĀ® (PMC) is a free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM) launched in 2000.

BioMed Central

BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 243 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals.

Google Scholar

Use this special search within Google to find just: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. By setting the "Library Links" within "Scholar Preferences", you can have the results link to OSU holdings of fee-based material when owned.

OSU Libraries:

Activity

Using BioMed Central, find an articles on a health topic of interest to you.

[Links open in new browser window.]

Pop Quiz

BioMed Central is a good place to go to for :

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Previous|Guide Home|Next


© 2013, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/guides/