OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

Topical Guides: Business Research

Business Research > 3: Articles & Journals

Previous|Guide Home|Next

3A: Types of Resources

Use an article database (also called a periodical index) to locate articles published in magazines, scholarly journals or trade publications. When you have a specific topic in mind, use an appropriate article database and search by keyword. To browse articles, find a journal dedicated to your topic or field of study.

Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines Trade Publications

Note that some journals and articles are freely available on the Web, while others are fee-based, requiring that the user have a subscription to gain access. The OSU Libraries provides access to over 10,000 fee-based online journals for students at OSU and to over 300 article databases for searching for articles by key word.

This section contains scholarly resources, some of which may require subscription access via a library. While we aim to suggest free resources, some of the key article and database resources are available via subscription only. Non-OSU users are encouraged to check with their local academic or public library for access options if your research needs are not sufficiently addressed by the free resources.

3B: Examples: Article Databases

MagPortal - Business

A site that allows you to search or browse (by subject) for magazine articles from a variety of sources.

Business Source Complete (OSU access)

Indexes more than 1,200 important and scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals back to 1886. A link to the full article is often available.

 

3C: Examples: Online Magazines and Journals

Businessweek

Leading, award-winning weekly newsmagazine concerning U.S. and international business. Browse by topic or search.

The Economist

Weekly magazine providing analysis of current events, politics, and culture. Contains a selection of articles from the current issue. Browse by topic or search, find blogs and multimiedia content, and find job information.

Fortune on CNN Money

Information from the weekly business and finance magazine Fortune. Contains news and features on business, finance, and corporate and entrepreneurial culture, and Fortune 500 information.

Wall Street Journal Interactive Edition

Online edition of newspaper (by trial subscription) and major tool for capitalist strategists. Contains breaking news about and affecting financial markets, corporations, business, and technology. Also features sports and "Personal Journal News Alert" for subscribers.

Wall Street Journal for OSU Community (OSU access)

Contains full text access to articles from 1984 to within the last few days. Does not include breaking news or a personal journal news alert, but also does not require personal subscription from members of the OSU community.

3D: How to Find More

OSU Libraries:

Google Scholar

Use this special search within Google to find just: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. By setting the "Library Links" within "Scholar Preferences", you can have the results link to OSU holdings (or another library) for fee-based material when owned.

Yahoo: News and Media

Browse by topic area to find links to appropriate online magazines, journals and trade publications. This resource is useful for finding publications on a topic- not for finding individual articles.

Activity

Using Yahoo: News and Media, find an online magazine to bookmark in your browser. You can visit the site regularly to keep up with the business world.

[Links open in new browser window.]

Pop Quiz

An OSU article database is a good place to find:

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Previous|Guide Home|Next


© 2013, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/guides/