A portal or gateway site is the best place to begin research. These sites, which are intended to serve as "jumping off" points, will lead the researcher to a variety of useful sources that have been selected because of their relevance or quality. A portal site may include thousands of links on a wide range of topics, or may be very specific in scope and point to a small number of resources.

Portal sites may allow keyword searching, provide topical, hierarchical browsing (drilling down) or both search and browse capabilities. Another useful starting point for research is the search engine, particularly those that are subject-specific.
BAM!Info- Business and Money Information
http://www.baminfo.com/
Large Web directory of business and money related links that have been screened and ranked. Also includes selected articles and news of interest.
Business.com
http://business.com
A business-centered directory and search engine that finds industry related or product line information. A search for a company will result in basic company information, a link to the company Web site and links to recent news articles about the company. A search for a product will result in news releases, articles and links to companies that sell the product.
Stocks.com
http://www.stocks.com
A portal to information on stock investing. Links to annual reports, news and a live ticker tape during open hours of the stock market.
Subject Research Guides: Business
http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rul/rr_gateway/research_guides/busi/business.shtml
From the Rutgers University Libraries, this business research resources guide -- or portal -- puts the top business research sources in one place. The portal is divided into eighteen sections, including Business News Sources, Job Searching, Market Research, and Financing Your Business. Within each section, there are myriad sites complete with short annotations. Some of the databases listed are only available to the Rutgers community.
intute: social sciences: business
http://www.intute.ac.uk/socialsciences/business/
Intute organizes over 18,000 Web resources for education and research and makes them searchable by keywords or browsing. These resources are "selected and evaluated by a network of subject specialists."
AcademicInfo
http://www.academicinfo.us/
A listing of topics leading to scholarly Web sites suitable for research at the high school and college level. Browse by topics presented or use the keyword search function to find Web sites on a specific topic. Within each topical listing is a sub-category of portals and general resources. Web sites are selected because of their usefulness to students, educators and researchers.
The Internet Public Library Subject Collections (IPL)
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/
Core internet resources are arranged by discipline and then by more specific subject area. An option is also available to find associations or serials related to the subject. These sites have been selected and organized by librarians. A link to pathfinders on very specific topics is also available.
Search Engine Guide
http://www.searchengineguide.com/
This guide indexes over 3,000 directories and search engines. Organized by category and searchable by keyword.
Use Business.com to find company information on Lancaster Colony.
[Links open in new browser window.]