OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

OSU Libraries

Topical Guides: Art Research

Art Research > 3: Articles & Journals


Previous|Guide Home|Next

3A: Types of Resources

Use an article database (also called a periodical index) to locate articles published in magazines, scholarly journals or trade publications. When you have a specific topic in mind, use an appropriate article database and search by keyword. To browse articles, find a journal dedicated to your topic or field of study.

Scholarly Journals Popular Magazines Trade Publications

Note that some journals and articles are freely available on the Web, while others are fee-based, requiring that the user have a subscription to gain access. The OSU Libraries provides access to over 10,000 fee-based online journals for students at OSU and to over 300 article databases for searching for articles by key word.

This section contains scholarly resources, some of which may require subscription access via a library. While we aim to suggest free resources, some of the key article and database resources are available via subscription only. Non-OSU users are encouraged to check with their local academic or public library for access options if your research needs are not sufficiently addressed by the free resources.

3B: Examples: Article Databases

Art Full Text (OSU access)

Citations to and full articles in art related journals. Also indexes reproductions of works of art, advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, city planning, computers in archaeology, architecture, and art, crafts, folk art, glassware, graphic arts, interior and industrial design, jewelry, landscape architecture, motion pictures, musicology, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video and woodwork.

BHA & RILA

The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and the RĂ©pertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) via The Getty are freely-available scholarly journal database

3C: Examples: Online Magazines and Journals

Artnet.com Magazine

Online publication with reviews of recent art exhibits and news from the art world.

Tate Papers

View online research papers from Tate, famous for their London gallery.

X-Tra Contemporary Art Quarterly

An outlet for contemporary visual arts, including historical essays, interviews, and reviews of books and exhibitions.

3D: How to Find More

OSU Libraries:

Google Scholar

Use this special search within Google to find just: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. By setting the "Library Links" within "Scholar Preferences", you can have the results link to OSU holdings of fee-based material when owned.

Yahoo: News and Media

Browse by topic area to find links to appropriate online magazines, journals and trade publications. This resource is useful for finding publications on a topic- not for finding individual articles.

Activity

Using Yahoo: News and Media, find an online magazine to bookmark in your browser. You can visit the site regularly to keep up with the art scene.

 

Pop Quiz

An OSU article database is a good place to find:

Correct answer: [NOTE: Score is not recorded]

Previous|Guide Home|Next


© 2013, The Ohio State University Libraries
http://liblearn.osu.edu/guides/